Thoughts that keep me up at night

I lie awake at night

Tangled between the sheets

With two mistresses

I did not agree to get in bed with.

Partners in crime.

A matching set.

Anxiety and insomnia

Fill the room with noise

Silence can barely compete

Anxiety places a blender behind my eyes

Insomnia presses “Chop” Every time they start to close

Anxiety pours the words

Within my skull

Demanding them to be written

While tying my hands behind my back

Insomnia is the drum

Beating to remind me

That while I may fill the glass

It will never be enough

Anxiety drives my car to work

With a gun to my head

After insomnia handcuffs

A piece of me to my bed

Always leaving a part of me

Not miles away from where I am

But just out of reach

I’m held hostage by this life

Pulled between the person I am

And the person I want to be

Anxiety is the mean girl in high school

But not the blatant bully

The one that disguises herself as my friend

Her eyes are sharp for imperfection

Every glance is a poignant blade

Against each pound I should have never gained

She smiles at my jokes and claims them as her own

Because her delivery is always spot on

She flirts with the boys I like

And winks in my direction

To let me know the world is hers for the taking

Her criticism is posed as constructive

But every poised point of her finger

Is a bulldozer to my self esteem

Insomnia is the cruel whisper behind my back

Reminding me that I didn’t have any self esteem to begin with

I graduated six years ago

But they’re the only friends that stick around

I can’t afford to let them go

I’m think they’ll be holding hands at my funeral

Toasting to the memory of me that they helped destroy

Anxiety and Insomnia

Partners in crime

A matching set

I can’t tell who’s the bigger bitch

Leave a comment